Happy Birthday, Foster!

Foster, an Atlantic bottlenose dolphin calf born at the Aquarium on September 9, 2007, is one year old today!

The dolphin trainers held a small birthday party for Foster, presenting him with special toys and plenty of well wishes. Foster’s mom, Jade, and a few other dolphins even joined in the fun! Click here to see the video!

Visitors will have the opportunity to share in the celebration this week during dolphin shows and can puchase special birthday cupcakes at the Aquariums’ cafes through Sunday, September 14. For each cupcake sold, $.50 will go toward puchasing enrichment items for Foster and friends!

Daily enrichment and play is an important part of a dolphin’s life at the Aquarium. For more information on how you can donate items to the Aquarium’s animals, visit www.aqua.org/donate.

18 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Foster!”


  1. 1 Resq1 September 9, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Happy Birthday Foster! What a celebration, and I’ll be sure to stop by and purchase a yummy cupcake that will help support the purchase of new enrichment items for the Aquarium animals!

  2. 2 marinemammals4ever September 9, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Happy 1st Birthday, Foster!!! :]

  3. 3 ABBY September 10, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY FOSTER. WISH I COULD BE THERE THIS WEEK BUT MY OH MY ITS A BUSY ONE FOR ME. I’LL VISIT YOU SOON TO WISH YOU A HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!!! CHEERS

  4. 4 MJ Seely September 10, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Happy Birthday to Foster from your dolfriends on Long Island NY!!!!!

  5. 5 Anita LaLonde September 10, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Happy Birthday wishes!!! I am sorry to say when I was there this summer I did not see the beautiful dolphin BUT I did enjoy the many other sites of the aquarium.

  6. 6 Robin G. September 10, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY FOSTER! I miss you!

  7. 7 marinemammals4ever September 10, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Happy Birthday, Foster! So Jade is Foster’s mother…who is his father?

  8. 8 Amy Nunnelly September 10, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Happy 1st Birthday Foster!!

    Love,
    The Nunnelly Family, Blackstone, VA

  9. 9 Vicki September 10, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY FOSTER!!!!!!!!

  10. 10 elizabeth chittams September 10, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    happy birthday you ;look so cute

  11. 11 Emilie Luttman September 11, 2008 at 6:10 am

    Happy 1st Birthday Foster! We’ve never met but my parents are bringing me to meet you and your friends for my 14th birthday in December. You see, I want to work with dolphins for my career. I can’t WAIT to meet you!!
    Love, Emilie

  12. 12 Sam September 11, 2008 at 6:40 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY FOSTER!!! UR SO CUTE!

  13. 13 JOHN September 11, 2008 at 8:40 am

    My how you’ve grown since this past May when my family and I visited. Happy birthday to you Foster – hope to see you again next spring.

    Harrisburg, PA.

  14. 14 Diane Glasco September 11, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Happy birthday foster and may you have many more. Diane

  15. 15 Amber Buter September 11, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    Happy Birthday Foster!!! I just aquadopted a dolphin at the aquarium and I am sure it was you! Hope you had a fun birthday. (tell your trainers to give you an extra fish or two!)

    Amber
    National Aquarium Volunteer

  16. 16 claire September 13, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    Happy birthday Foster!!!
    I wish I could be a part of your birthday celebration, but since I live in Georgia this is not possible :( I will be up around thanksgiving though, so maybe I’ll be able to convince my mom to take me to see you! Until then have a wonderful birthday!!!
    <3
    ~Claire

  17. 17 Jessica K. September 14, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Happy 1st Birthday Foster! You are a handsome little dolphin and im so happy you are doing so well! :)

  18. 18 RP September 27, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Happy birthday! I can’t believe its just six days afer mine! By the way, what age are the dolphins before they make their show debut?


Leave a Reply

Sign up for AquaMail

Twitter Updates


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

